COVID-19 questions? Contact us at Santa Monica’s hotline, Monday through Friday, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at 310-458-8400 or

City Council Selects Gleam Davis as New Mayor and Terry O’Day as Mayor Pro Tempore

December 11, 2018 8:00 PM

City Council Selects Gleam Davis as New Mayor and Terry O’Day as Mayor Pro Tempore

SANTA MONICA, Calif. – At its special meeting tonight, the Santa Monica City Council voted in new Mayor Gleam Davis and Terry O’Day as Mayor Pro Tempore.

“Serving the community is an honor and wonderful opportunity to elevate Santa Monicans priorities during an exciting time in the City’s history. We have a lot of work ahead of us,” said Mayor Gleam Davis. “Our beachside city is an inclusive and progressive place. We need to celebrate our successes and tackle the challenges that we face with equitable vigor. Santa Monica is a community that I care for deeply and as mayor, I will listen, learn and provide thoughtful consideration to community questions and ideas that arise during my term.” 

Mayor Gleam Davis has served on the Council since 2009 when they selected her to fill the seat left vacant by the passing of Herb Katz and was elected to an additional two-year term in 2010.  She was re-elected in 2012 and 2016.  At the time of her appointment, Gleam was a member of the Santa Monica Planning Commission and was the Co-Chair of Santa Monicans for Renters’ Rights. For more details about Mayor Davis, visit  

Mayor Pro Tempore Terry O’Day was first elected as Councilmember for the City of Santa Monica in November 2010. He has served two years as Mayor Pro Tempore. He has been active with community organizations throughout California and Mexico; including Waterkeeper Alliance, Coro Southern California; The USC Center for Sustainable Cities, Environmental Entrepreneurs and as the Board Chair of the Coalition for Clean Air. For more details about Mayor Pro Temp O’Day, visit   

Outgoing mayor, Ted Winterer is a 25-year Santa Monica resident and served in this role for the past year when Santa Monica made headway on Council’s five strategic goals that include taking a regional approach to helping the homeless, creating a new model of mobility in Santa Monica, ensuring that Santa Monicans all have an opportunity to learn and thrive, maintaining an affordable and economically inclusive community and regaining control of Airport land. During his tenure as mayor, Council approved the 100 percent default renewable energy tier, hired new City Attorney, Lane Dilg, selected a temporary sports field at the Civic Center and expanded the City’s ban on single-use plastics. 

“It has been a wonderful two years to have served the Santa Monica community and as I look back, on my time as Mayor, it has been both exciting and challenging,” said Councilmember Winterer. “There is a long list of accomplishments and a long list of things yet to be done. I look forward to supporting Mayor Davis in her role as our new Mayor and know she will be a strong voice for Santa Monica.” 

Determined by a 4-3 vote, Councilmember Kevin McKeown will serve as Mayor for the second year of the two-year term.

At the meeting, City Clerk Denise Anderson-Warren certified Santa Monica’s 2018 election results and new board members were sworn in, including Sue Himmelrich, Greg Morena and Kevin McKeown for Santa MonicaCity Council, Naomi Sultan, Nicole Phillis, and Steve Duron for the Santa Monica Rent Control Board, Laurie Lieberman, Richard Tahvildaran-Jesswein, Oscar de la Torre and Craig Foster for Santa Monica/Malibu Unified School District Board and Louise Jaffe, Nancy Greenstein, Sion Roy and Barry Snell for the Santa Monica College Board. 

For more information on Santa Monica Election 2018, visit  


Back to top