City Council

The Santa Monica City Council is made up of seven members elected at-large for staggered four-year terms. Every two years, after each election, the City Council selects one of its members to serve as Mayor and another to serve as Mayor Pro Tempore.

The City Council provides leadership in establishing policies for the conduct of municipal affairs while acting as the principal policymakers for the City; oversees the delivery of basic City services; formulates community priorities for allocation of City resources; holds regularly scheduled meetings, hearings, and study sessions to receive citizens' input and conduct City business in a public forum. Staff manages constituent services and provides Council members with scheduling, communications and other administrative support.